Meetings Locations Events Flight Planning 2-4-Cix PIREPS
Download scenery for the Sywell race here. (FS9/FSX)
The Course
The course consists of 4 markers, as detailed below:

Turn 1: RAF Harrington (disused) N52 23' 21"  W0 50' 20"
Turn 2: Holowell Reservoir N52 21' 42" W0 59' 38"
Turn 3: Pitsford N52 18' 54" W0 54' 06"
Turn 4: Start-Finish Line N52 18'17" W0 47' 25"

Total distance: 20 nm
The race will be six laps, in an anti-clockwise direction.
There is an NDB (NN 378.5KHz) on the airfield.
Click on the thumbnails to see a larger picture
Turning Points and Markers
Turn 1:  RAF Harrington (disused) N52 23' 21"  W0 50' 20"
345 degrees, 5.5nm

A small road leads from the A43 to the A14, passing just to the East of the disused airfield. The marker is at the southern end of a narrow strip of woodland.

RAF Harrington was used by the USAAF during WWII for bombing and carpetbagging missions. It was home to B24 Liberators, C47s, A26s and Mosquito XVIs. It closed in 1963, and has mostly reverted to farmland.

Turn left, passing over the airfield to...
Turn 2: Holowell Reservoir N52 21' 42" W0 59' 38"
253 degrees, 6.0nm

The marker is located at a junction of the A5199, close to the Northern tip of the reservoir

Turn left, heading South to...
Turn 3: Pitsford N52 18' 54" W0 54' 06"
129 degrees, 4.4nm

The marker is positioned in the middle of a roundabout, on the A508, South of Brixworth, and close to the Pitsford Reservoir dam.

A gentle left turn to...
Turn 4: Start-Finish Line N52 18'17" W0 47' 25"
100 degrees, 4.1nm

Fly straight through the gates and make a left turn back towards marker 1...
Where do I go?
Or, What to Do At The Start Of The Race
The runway in use will be determined by the prevailing wind.

RUNWAYS 03, 05, 33:
Climb straight ahead to 500ft then turn towards marker 1.

RUNWAY 15, 21, 23:
After take off, make an immediate climbing left turn, all the way round towards marker 1.
Rejoin Procedures
Or, What to Do At The End Of The Race
* After crossing the finish line, climb to 1000ft AAL and enter the circuit according to the published procedures.
* You may be required to hold until all competitors have crossed the finish line.
* Do not overfly the surrounding villages.
Pilot Aircraft Reg Fastest lap Start Handicap
Ben Bishop Cessna 152 G-BFZT 11:32 1 0
Rob Jones DH Chipmunk G-BMMO 11:15 2 1:41
Al Regina Cessna 172 C-GIST 11:11 3 2:08
Tim Arnot ACA Decathalon  G-DDTS 9:32 4 12:00
Matt Scott PA24 Comanche G-ASEO 8:37 5 17:27
Sean Benneyworth Avions-Mudry CAP10B G-SLEA DNQ - -
Matthew Davies Cessna 172 G-BEWR DNQ - -
Position Pilot Aircraft Time Penalties
1 Al Regina Cessna 172 1:08:16 -
2 Matt Scott PA24 Comanche 1:09:00 -
3 Rob Jones DH Chipmunk 1:09:29 10 secs
4 Ben Bishop Cessna 152 1:09:35 60 secs
5 Tim Arnot ACA Decathalon 1:10:30 -
 Pictures: Al Regina, Tim Arnot
 Page views: 1792 Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS! Page updated 07/03/16